2009, Columbus, OH, United States
Tyler Joseph (vocals, keyboards), Nick Thomas (bass, 2009-11), Chris Salih (drums, 2009-11), Josh Dun (drums, 2011-present)
Pop Rap, Indie Pop, Electropop, Pop Rock, Pop Reggae, Indietronica

Twenty One Pilots is a keyboard/drum-driven Hip Hop outfit formed in 2009 by Tyler Joseph who throughout high school would write and play music with his friend and bassist, Nick Thomas. Chris Salih joined them in 2009 as their drummer, and the three recorded their debut self-titled album.

They played together until 2011 when Nick and Chris left the band to pursue other non-musical endeavors. Josh Dun, former tour drummer of House of Heroes, joined the band and they continued playing live shows as a two-piece while recording Twenty One Pilots’ sophomore release